Matteo Rozzi, first violin

Arianna Brandalise, second violin

Martina Pettenon, alto viola

Luca Lazzarini, tenor viola

Caterina Colelli, cello

Nicola Reniero, conductor from the harpsichord

The “Il Trattenimento Armonico” ensemble is occupied to study and play – on original instruments – of the musical baroque repertory, with particular interest on Italian musical repertoire of the XVII century. The ensemble is engaged in musicological research and musical performance of a repertoire of rarely performed, or the five strings sonata. This musical form found its best expression by great composers of the XVII and XVIII centuries, such as Legrenzi, Muffat, Albinoni and Telemann.The five parts instruments writing, originated on vocal polyphony, was abandoned after have enjoyed its gold period between the XVI and the XVII centuries, to have been substitute by more simply forms. Instruments used in this context, such as the tenor viola, have paid the price and were abandoned during the XVIII century. Amati, Stradivari and Stainer had built excellent specimens that are now preserved. The ensemble presents us with this ancient instrument which completes the original quintet of the string family.